Welcome to the UI Alumni Network


Carlo Uberto named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Carlo Uberto named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Chicago, IL – Carlo Uberto Segre, Duchossois Leadership Professor of Physics at Illinois Institute of Technology, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.
This year, 388 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with a certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin representing science and engineering, respectively on Saturday, February 15, 2014 at 8 a.m. at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.
This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on November 29, 2013.
As part of the Section on Engineering, Segre was elected as an AAAS Fellow for his distinguished contributions to materials science and engineering, particularly high temperature superconductivity and development of facilities for synchrotron radiation studies of electrochemical and catalytic systems.
Segre, who also serves as Deputy Director of the Materials Research Collaborative Access Team (MRCAT) at Argonne National Laboratory, Director of the Center for Synchrotron Radiation Research and Instrumentation (CSRRI), Deputy Director of the Biophysics Collaborative Access Team (BioCAT) at Argonne, received his B.S. in Physics and Chemistry from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and his M.S. and Ph. D. in Physics from University of California, San Diego. He is an active member of the American Physical Society, American Chemical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, President of the IIT chapter of Sigma Xi, and Fellow of the International Centre for Diffraction Data. Segre is working with a team of researchers from IIT and Argonne National Laboratory on a $3.4 million award from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA-E) to develop a breakthrough battery technology that could more than double the current range of electric vehicles.
The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.
Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.
The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.



© Copyright UI Alumni Network, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Alumni Development Software